University Library : A brief introduction

  University  Library                                                                                                                                                 University Library UAS GKVK, was established in the year 1966-67,then the Government appoints Dr. K.C. Naik, as the first Vice-Chancellor on 12th June 1964. The university was inaugurated by Dr. Zakir Hussain, the Vice President of India on 21st Aug 1964. University has 5 constitute colleges, UAS Bangalore, College of Sericulture Chintamani, College of Agriculture Hassan, College of Agriculture V.C. Farm Mandya and College of Agriculture Chamarajanagar. University library is a central hub of print and e-resources information centre for both faculty and students, a 5-storey building equipped with advanced RFID (radio-frequency identification) technology with self-check-in check-out of books and RFID gate. Library is also member of various consortium for accessing electronic journals like CeRa (Consortium for e-Resources in